The SUE Executive Committee

The SUE Executive Committee is responsible for day to day decisions on the direction and running of the union. It is made up of a delegate from each Branch (normally the Branch Secretary) and a number of directly elected reps to include Women, BME, LGBT, Disabled, Admin and Clerical and Branch Employed Staff reps.  The Executive also includes the National Treasurer, National Education Officer and National Membership Secretary.

The Executive Committee in session immediately prior to the 2019 Conference.


Executive posts are subject to election every two years.

The current Executive took up post after SUE National Conference in May 2019.

The members of the SUE 2019 Executive are:

 National President – Jocelyn Pettitt-Rose

National Secretary –  Claire Jones

Assistant National Secretary (Negotiations)- Sarah Keig

Assistant National Secretary (Admin) – James Rupa

National Education Officer – Dee Griffiths

Treasurer – Rosa Pickavance

National Membership Officer – Joe Williams

Eastern – Paul Farley/Tracey Tansley  (job share)

East Midlands – Jocelyn Pettitt-Rose/ Rachel Doyle (Job share)

Greater London – Nick Turnbull/ Rachel Johnson (Job share)

Northern – Helen Metcalf/ Gemma Taylor (Job share)

North West – James Rupa

South West – Karen Williams

Cymru/Wales – Simon Dunn

West Midlands – Charlie Sarell/ Beccy Head (Job share)

Yorkshire & Humberside – Sarah Keig

UNISON Centre –  Monica Hirst / Luke Ruby (Job share)

The Forum elections are imminent but  current holders are:

Admin and Clerical – Gillian Gorman

BAME – Bibi Khan/ Claire Angela Henry (Job Share)

Branch Employed Staff –  Dave Marsden

Women’s Representative – Angela Lysons

LGBT Representative – Rachel Doyle

Disabled Representative – Ryan Williams


The 2017 SUE Executive held an away day at Birmingham University to discuss a wide range of issues. Amongst the topics discussed were: pay, Admin and Clerical Staff in UNISON; organisation and representation of SUE members and recruitment of non members into SUE.

Provisional Executive dates for 2019 are:
29th January.
20th March
25th April
14th May
19th June
13th September
5th December

The SUE Exec meeting in Glasgow.